AyeVarViVa

Nobody says you have to be gangstas, hoes. Read more learn more, change the globe. Ghetto children, do your thang.

Ma$culinity?

I hope that at this point everyone has heard of the awful trial of the Steubenville Rape crime. It is horrific and in no way inexcusable what those boys did. 

For starters let me point out that I find it difficult to call the perpetrators “boys”, they were 17-18. There is a great debate at which age a boy is considered a man.  At what point in their life does a boy leave adolescence and inherit the rights and responsibilities of a man.  

I made that point to show one side of the debate of whether or not they’re trialed as adults or juveniles.  Personally I do think they still are boys.

That does not at all excuse them of their actions! 

If I think back to 4 years ago when I was their age, I was sexually active, I was a boy attempting men things.  Yet I knew how important it was to have consent with my partners.  Knowing the importance of consent I have to credit to my parents.  I find it difficult to believe that the parents of these boys taught them its okay to perform sexual acts on an unconscious person.  

Thus if we believe that these kids were not taught at home to take advantage of girls, what compelled them to do it?  If it wasn’t awful enough that they actually performed such horrible acts, they boasted about it on the social media.  That to me is just baffling. How could these boys have such disregard for this poor girl and make her violation public? Its flat out sickening. 

To post their crimes on the internet to me almost seems boastful.  It use to be that your sexual exploits were expressed word of mouth, today humiliation can go much further to a point where concrete evidence is undeniable.  Ideas of being “masculine” are blurred to include the new age of communications.   

For these boys where did the motives of being proud come from? To me dominance of someone unconscious does not equal masculinity. Unfortunately this isn’t the only case of a man/boy confusing his masculinity with the crime of rape.  

The ideas of masculinity have to be realigned and if it doesn’t more sad tale like these will continue.   

  

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2013 by .
